Vesalia Amiga Future Archive
User
Username:

Password:

 Remember me



I forgot my password

Don't have an account yet?
You can register for FREE

» Home
» Mag Member
» News View
» News Tell
» News Setting
» Everywhere
 
Amiga Future
» Info
» Content List
» Article-Database
» Merchandising
» Shop
» Downloads
 
Community
» Forum
» Gallery
» Calendar
 
Knowledge
» Amiga Software
» Amiga Cheats
» Amiga FAQ
» Forum FAQ
» Links
 
Service
» Jobs
» Webmaster
» Advertising
» Contact/Imprint
» Privacy Policy

Searching

Advanced Search

Anzeigen
Bitte untersttzt uns durch Einkufe bei Amazon:

Deutschland
sterreich
UK
France
Canada
Italia
Espana


Spenden
Donate
Amiga Future

copy roms through pc

 
Post new topicReply to topic Amiga Future Forum Index -> Amiga General Chat english
View previous topic :: View next topic 
Author Message
enkidoe
AFF Anwrter
AFF Anwrter


Joined: 13 Jul 2014
Posts: 10


   belgium

PostPosted: 13.07.2014 - 15:35    Post subject: copy roms through pc Reply with quote

Guys,

Is it possible to use my pc to copy Roms to disk for use with my Amiga?

regards,
Back to top   PDF
View user's profile Send private message
Thomas
Amiga Future Redaktion
Amiga Future Redaktion


Joined: 03 Jul 2001
Posts: 1001


   germany

PostPosted: 13.07.2014 - 17:24    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, unfortunately a PC is not able to access Amiga floppy disks. With some hard/software tricks it is possible to read them (for example http://www.winuae.net/files/stuff/adfread-1.1.zip ), but there is no way to write to them.

You need additional hardware like http://www.kryoflux.com/ or http://www.jschoenfeld.de/products/catweasel_e.htm

If you have a real Amiga (which I suppose as you are asking for real floppy disks), it's probably easier and cheaper to connect the Amiga to the PC with a serial cable and use something like this: http://www.amigaforever.com/ae/

BTW, the files you are talking about are called disk images or ADFs, but not Roms. A ROM is a chip inside the computer or a cartridge. The Amiga has only one ROM which contains part of its operating system. Unlike game consoles, the Amiga is a real personal computer and its software comes on floppy disks, not on cartridges.
_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/
Back to top   PDF
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
enkidoe
AFF Anwrter
AFF Anwrter


Joined: 13 Jul 2014
Posts: 10


   belgium

PostPosted: 13.07.2014 - 17:46    Post subject: Reply with quote

many thanks for the reply. Its indeed about the adf's and i still own a 500(even 2).
Anyway, i dont have a harddisk to copy the adm's do, i dont want to keep the pc connected with the amiga. dont think thats functional.

I never had a harddisk for the amiga btw, so i am not sure whats the filesystem and i dont think the connection would be IDE so i can use an ide drive.
Back to top   PDF
View user's profile Send private message
Thomas
Amiga Future Redaktion
Amiga Future Redaktion


Joined: 03 Jul 2001
Posts: 1001


   germany

PostPosted: 13.07.2014 - 19:56    Post subject: Reply with quote

You do not need a harddrive. AmigaExplorer allows to write ADFs directly to floppy disk. You only need a bootable floppy with the AExplorer program on it. And you don't need to keep the Amiga connected to the PC all the time, only during the transfer.

Regarding harddrives, an A500 does not have a harddisk controller, so you cannot connect a HDD to it. You first need an expansion with a controller. Both SCSI and IDE controllers are available, usually coming with a case to build the HDD into. The case is connect to the left side of the Amiga expanding the Amiga's width a bit.
_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/
Back to top   PDF
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
enkidoe
AFF Anwrter
AFF Anwrter


Joined: 13 Jul 2014
Posts: 10


   belgium

PostPosted: 14.07.2014 - 11:26    Post subject: Reply with quote

Concerning the floppy's, can i use regular pc floppy's? Also, about the Harddisk, if i ant to buy one, do they have a specific name?
Back to top   PDF
View user's profile Send private message
Thomas
Amiga Future Redaktion
Amiga Future Redaktion


Joined: 03 Jul 2001
Posts: 1001


   germany

PostPosted: 14.07.2014 - 14:47    Post subject: Reply with quote

enkidoe wrote
Concerning the floppy's, can i use regular pc floppy's?


Your Amiga probably has a DD (double density) drive. Nowadays almost all floppy disks you can buy are HD (high density) disks. Using HD disks in a DD drive might work temporarily but is not reliable. You should better try to get real DD floppy disks.

You can distinct the different types by the hole on the opposite side of the write protect switch: HD floppies have a hole on this side, DD disks haven't.



Quote:
Also, about the Harddisk, if i ant to buy one, do they have a specific name?


If you are serious about your Amiga hobby, you could get one of these: http://www.vesalia.de/e_aca500.htm

Otherwise you would have to see what you can get second-hand.
Check this page: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/scsi
Those exansions with a 500 in their name should work on the A500.
Most photos on this page show the PCB of an expansion only. This is misleading. Almost every expansion comes with a case similar to the one shown on this page for example: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact500mk2
The case holds the PCB and has space for a HDD if it doesn't come with one already.

The description should tell you what kind of HDD you need. Usually a 3.5" drive will do, either SCSI or IDE depending on the controller.

Be careful if the description mentions XT. An XT-IDE controller does not work with modern IDE drives. That would be AT-IDE.

Also note that AmigaOS in general has a 4GB limit. So in order to avoid problems you should use a harddrive smaller than 4GB.
_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/
Back to top   PDF
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topicReply to topic Amiga Future Forum Index -> Amiga General Chat english
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

PDF


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

'AFclean' Theme by Matthias Overloeper, based on 'AmigaFuture Deluxe' by Tristan Mangold